Peanut Butter Perfection

Happy Birthday Margaret!
Happy Birthday Margaret!

You may be surprised to see peanut butter coming from my kitchen, especially since most of you know my mother has a let’s-call-it strong aversion to THE BEST FOOD EVER.  What that really means is that I’ve been banned from using peanut butter for desserts or any post dinner confection, because “it’s just absolutely disgusting.”  But making cupcakes to bring for a friends’ birthday? Success – #winning for peanut butter!

Stuffed cupcakes!
Stuffed cupcakes! – Pay no attention to mismatched cupcake tins!!

I started off with my go-to chocolate cupcakes – I can’t even count how many times I’ve made these!  But in case you’re curious, they can be found here, here, here, and on the Nestle’s Website.  But these bad boys are such an easy job! It’s a one bowl recipe and only a 2 step combining process; it’s a piece of cupcake!  Come on, you had to see that one coming…

Peanut butter perfection! But seriously, so good!!
Peanut butter perfection! But seriously, so good!!

After they’re cooled, it’s time to stuff it with some deliciously supplemented peanut butter.  All it takes is about 1 cup of peanut butter, 3 tsp butter and about 2 cups confectioners sugar.  First cream the butter and peanut butter together til smooth and add sugar to taste; I used about 1.5 cups, but make sure you add enough so its a smooth soft consistency!

So simple. Vanilla butter cream and jimmies.
So simple. Vanilla butter cream and jimmies.

After your cupcakes are filled, I quickly frosted them with my new favorite vanilla buttercream recipe and added multicolored jimmies.  YES jimmies, not sprinkles.  Full disclosure – are you read for this? There is where I found my jimmies for this recipe.  In my pantry, left over from (clearly somebody else, because we all know, I HATE super sweet and store bought frosting!)

Look at this little guy!
Look at this little guy!

I think it worked well though?  Top it off with a mini Reese’s cup and espresso bean!

Photo-taking at the restaurant - it happens.
Photo-taking at the restaurant – it happens.
I come bearing cupcakes!
I come bearing cupcakes!

They ended up being a big hit (or I think they were at least!) But the best part was celebrating my good friend Margaret’s birthday!  A bunch of us went out to dinner and it was BYOC – Bring Your Own Cupcakes!  What a great concept :D Happy Birthday Mags! Love you!

September is big on birthday and holidays and fun, so stay tuned for much more to come! :D

Happy Baking!  And get outside to enjoy this fall! I can’t get enough!

5 thoughts on “Peanut Butter Perfection

  1. Hello Robin!!

    A friend and I want to make some fun cupcakes over her break next week! I think we may use this recipe! :) IT WAS SO GOOD! I was exploring many posts and I love this site. Can’t believe I haven’t been an avid reader before! You are hilarious and so fun! Oh yah, and also an amazing baker! :)

  2. Loving the bring your own cupcake concept .. and they look delicious!!

    Thank you for linking to Raising Imperfection.
    Please come back Friday to see if you were featured. :)

    ¤´¨)
    ¸.•*´
    (¸¤ Lanaya | xoxo
    Raising-Reagan.com

  3. The Peanut Butter cupcakes tasted excellent and this web site, with professional quality taken photographs, is a calorie free way to reminisce. Thanks for the memories. I highly recommend checking out the other recipes.

Feel free to leave a Reply!