German Chocolate Cupcakes

I’m not sure that there is a way to express the intensity of my boyfriends’ love affair with German Chocolate Cake.  One could go as far as equating it to how much I enjoy baking… one could say that, but I’m not sure I would say that.

German Chocolate Cupcakes!
German Chocolate Cupcakes!

Anyways, I have the greatest recipe for German Chocolate cake which, I cannot believe it IS NOT ON THE INTERNET.  That’s right folks, I have recipe books, that I do more with than use for aesthetic purposes!  Anyways, the recipe is from Better Homes circa 1984 (ok fine, it’s not actually my cook book).  It’s really incredibly simple to make, but with BIG results.

nom nom nom
nom nom nom

German Chocolate Cake
1 4oz package German sweet cooking chocolate
1 2/3 cups flour
1 1/3 cups sugar
1 teaspoon baking powder
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
2/3 cup buttermilk or sour milk
1/2 cup butter, softened
1 teaspoon vanilla
3 eggs

In a saucepan combine chocolate and 1/3 cup water; cook and stir over low heat until melted.  Cool.  In a bowl combine floursugarbaking powderbaking soda, and 1/8 teaspoon salt.  Add chocolate mixture, milkbutter, and vanilla.  Beat with electric mixture until combined; then on medium speed for about 2 minutes.  Add eggs and beat 2 minutes more.  Bake on 350 for about 20 minutes for cupcakes; 30 minutes for 8 1/2-inch or 9 1/2-inch rounds. Makes 24 Cupakes.

Coconut-Pecan Frosting *
1 egg
1 5-oz can (2/3 cups) evaporated milk
2/3 cup sugar
1/4 cup butter
1 1/3 cups coconut (I use about 2 cups, I like it COCONUTTY)
1/2 cup chopped pecans (or walnuts)

In a saucepan, beat egg slightly and stir in milksugar, and butter.  Cook and stir over MEDIUM head for about 12 minutes or until concoction is thickened and bubbly.  Stir in coconuts and  nuts.  Cool thoroughly before spreading on cake or cupcakes.

*I made coconut-walnut frosting because I wanted to switch it up…not because I forgot to buy pecans.

Ready to go in their little carrying case!
Ready to go in their little carrying case!
Little Cupcake Babies!
Little Cupcake Babies!

 

One thought on “German Chocolate Cupcakes

Feel free to leave a Reply!